Report on the LMS Women in Mathematics Day 2016

Wei En Tan – 3rd year PhD in Pure Mathematics student (University of Birmingham)

LMS2On the 22nd April, I had the pleasure of attending the “LMS Women in Mathematics Day 2016” in the beautiful city of Edinburgh. Despite being an annual event, this was my first time participating and I can honestly say that it was one of the most enjoyable and informative Mathematics events that I have experienced so far. It was a wonderful opportunity to meet and get to know other women, like myself, from all over the country, pursuing Mathematics in both industry and academia. The day was filled with interesting talks by women from a wide range of disciplines, from engineering to algebraic geometry, string theory to graph theory and more. It also included a poster competition which, following a close round of voting, I was surprised and honoured to win. However, my favourite part of the day was the career panel discussion where a group of women working in a variety of different fields, including engineering, finance and academia, answered questions from participants.

LMS3

As a student coming to the end of her postgraduate degree with no clear idea of what career to embark on next, this was particularly helpful for me. The discussion was friendly and encouraging and it was invaluable to hear from women mathematicians, who love what they do, talk about their experiences and the decisions they made to get to where they are now. Overall, the day left me feeling empowered and supported as a woman in Mathematics and I am now a lot less fearful of my future career decisions. I would highly recommend this event and hope to attend again next year.

LMS4

 

 

Congratulations – Wei En Tan pictured receiving her prize!

(All pictures in this post courtesy of London Mathematical Society)

 

